Have You Been Accused Of Sexual Assault?

Rape and sexual assault are two of the more serious violent crimes. Each carries heavy penalties and requires lifelong registration as a sex offender, not to mention the devastating consequences to your reputation and employment prospects.

If you've been charged with sexual assault, the attorneys at the Law Firm are prepared to defend you.

What Actions Constitute Rape And Sexual Assault?

The main sexual assault and rape crimes in Arkansas include:

  • Rape — Rape is sexual intercourse or deviate sexual activity with another person by forcible compulsion or who is incapable of consent. People incapable of consent include drugged sexual participants and children younger than 14. A victim younger than 18 cannot consent if the perpetrator had a close relationship with her, such as a relative or legal guardian.
  • First-degree sexual assault — This offense occurs when adults with authority, such as prison guards or teachers, use their position of trust and power to commit sexual assault against someone who is under 21. Consent is not a defense.
  • Second-degree sexual assault — This offense occurs: (1) when a person engages in sexual contact with another person by forcible compulsion or engages in sexual contact with people incapable of consent or a minor; (2) when adults in a position of authority or trust over the minor engage in sexual contact with the minor; or (3) when a minor engages in sexual contact with another minor who is younger than 14.
  • Third-degree sexual assault — This offense occurs when adults with authority, such as prison guards or teachers, use their position of power to commit sexual assault against an adult. This offense also includes sexual acts by a minor on another minor who is younger than 14.

The Penalties For Rape And Sexual Assault

In Arkansas, rape and sexual assault are felonies, punishable by as much as life in prison. The specific maximum sentences are:

  • Rape — Class Y felony. The maximum sentence is 40 years or life in prison.
  • First-degree sexual assault — Class A felony. The maximum sentence is 30 years in prison.
  • Second-degree sexual assault — Class B felony. The maximum sentence is 20 years in prison. It's a Class D felony if committed by a minor. In that case, the maximum sentence is six years in prison.
  • Third-degree sexual assault — Class C felony. The maximum sentence is 10 years in prison.

To Protect Your Rights, Contact The Law Firm

At the Law Firm in Little Rock, our attorneys have earned a reputation for tenacious, skilled defense. Contact us online or call us at 501-375-0900. We are available 24/7, and our lawyers make jail visits if needed.

Hablamos español.