Arkansas Attorneys Defend Clients Charged with Sex Crimes
Contesting sex crimes charges in Little Rock, Conway and Fayetteville
Nonviolent sex crimes, such as prostitution and child pornography, as well as violent sex crimes, such as rape, involve heavy penalties and registration as a sex offender. At the James Law Firm, it is our mission to defend those accused of crimes, whether the charges are major or minor. Our attorneys know how to identify weaknesses in the government’s case that lead to reasonable doubt in the minds of jurors.
What are the penalties for nonviolent sex crimes in Arkansas?
Nonviolent crimes don’t necessarily carry light penalties. For example, promoting prostitution is a severely penalized crime. In fact, first-degree promotion — promoting child prostitution or forcing a woman to prostitute herself against her will — is a Class D felony, which carries a maximum sentence of six years in prison and a $10,000 fine.
Possession of child pornography carries extremely serious penalties. Each pornographic image can count as a separate offense, so defendants are commonly charged with multiple counts at one time. For example, a college student in Arkansas was recently charged with 588 counts of child pornography based on the number of alleged pornographic images. Child pornography involving the use of a computer is a Class B felony, which carries a maximum sentence of 20 years in prison and a $15,000 fine.
What are the sex offender registration laws in Arkansas?
In 2011, the Arkansas General Assembly passed a series of statutes requiring convicted sex offenders to register with their local law enforcement agencies. Those laws are:
- Act 64 — Requires sex offenders to verify their registration every six months after their initial registration date. Verification must be done in person at the local law enforcement agency.
- Act 100 — Affects out-of-state sex offenders moving to Arkansas. Allows law enforcement to make immediate disclosure of an offender’s registration in another state prior to completion of the Arkansas sex offender assessment, which assigns a community notification level.
- Act 143 — Requires all sex offenders to report to law enforcement about any computers or other devices with Internet capability to which the sex offender has access; all e-mail addresses used by the sex offender; and all user names, screen names, or instant message names used by the sex offender to communicate in real time with another person using the Internet.
- Act 286 — For a sex offender who has been assessed as a Level 4 (sexually violent) predator, law enforcement is allowed to notify the community of the offender’s Level 4 status during the administrative appeal process of the sex offender assessment.
- Act 1009 — Requires sex offenders who were sentenced and required to register outside of Arkansas to submit to assessment by Sex Offender Screening and Risk Assessment; provide a DNA sample; and pay a $250 mandatory fee within 90 days from the date of registration.
Call our experienced sex crime attorneys in Arkansas
Contact the James Law Firm, online or at 501.683.8575 to schedule your free consultation. We will defend your liberty and your right to due process. Parking is free at our offices in Little Rock, Fayetteville and Conway. After-hours appointments are available. Hablamos español. The James Law Firm provides skillful defense and aggressive representation.